skip to main content skip to main menu

~ Ngā kaupapa mahi

project arrows

Who's in TANK

The TANK project is taking a community-based decision-making approach to work out how these unique water bodies should be managed.

The TANK Group comprises 30+ Hawke's Bay members representing a wide range of interests, with an independent facilitator. This is consistent with many approaches to develop freshwater management plans in New Zealand. The Group operates under an agreed Terms of Reference and has met regularly since October 2012 to build shared understanding and a basis to draft this Plan Change.

There are also 5 working groups established to help tackle the work required.

A wide range of science, cultural and economic information is necessary to assist decisions, and science and other reports are found under Resources.

Matters Under Consideration

As well as making recommendations on values and overall objectives, there are a number of key aspects of the Regional Plan that the TANK Group will recommend to Council.

The matters under consideration include:

  • flows, including low flow restrictions on takes
  • water allocation (including for municipal and domestic supply)
  • security of supply for water users
  • policies, rules on groundwater / surface water connectivity
  • surface water and groundwater quality limits
  • tangata whenua involvement in freshwater decision-making
  • use of Mātauranga Māori in monitoring and reporting
  • policies, rules and incentives on:
    • riparian management and stock exclusion
    • water storage
    • water efficiency
    • water sharing / transfer
    • nutrient loss / allocation
    • good irrigation practices
    • stormwater management
    • other agricultural practices.

TANK Planning Process

The process being followed and the decision making framework make it clear where community input is valued.  Dates for submission and consultation on draft plan changes will soon be confirmed and posted on this website.  Meanwhile we invite you to ask questions or provide comments. 

Decision Making Framework 

Process Diagram 

TANK Group

Aki Paipper Ngāti Hori ki Kohupātiki
Brett Gilmore Hawke's Bay Forestry Group
Bruce Mackay Heinz-Wattie's
David Carlton Department of Conservation
Joella Brown Ngā Marae o Heretaunga
Hugh Ritchie Federated Farmers
Ivan Knauf Dairy Sector
Jerf van Beek Twyford Irrigators Group
Wayne Ormsby Te Roopu Kaitiaki ō te Wai Māori
John Cheyne Te Taiao Hawke's Bay Environment Forum
Stephen Randall Ngā Kaitiaki o te Awa a Ngaruroro
Lesley Wilson Hawke's Bay Fruitgrowers' Association
Marei Apatu Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga
Mark Clews Hastings District Council
Mike Glazebrook Ngaruroro Water Users Group
Morry Black Matahiwi Marae
Neil Eagles Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society (Napier)
Ngaio Tiuka Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated
Nicholas Jones Hawke's Bay District Health Board
Peter Kay HDC Rural Community Board / Sheep and Beef Sector
Peter Paku Mana Whenua Ruahapia
Phill Holden Gimblett Gravel Winegrowers
Robyn Wynn-Lewis independent facilitator (CORE Consulting)
Scott Lawson Hawke's Bay Vegetable Growers
Te Kaha Hawaikirangi Nga Hapu o Tutaekuri
Tim Herman Pipfruit New Zealand
Mark Venman Fish and Game Hawke's Bay
Vaughan Cooper Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society (Hastings)
Xan Harding  Hawke's Bay Winegrowers


TANK Working Groups

Five working groups have been set up to help get through the large amount of work required – community engagement, stormwater, wetlands/lakes, mana whenua, economic assessment.

  Engagement Stormwater Wetlands/ Lakes Mana whenua Economic Assessment
Convenor Drew Broadley Rina Douglas Gavin Ide Joyce-Anne Raihania Mary-Anne Baker
TANK Bruce MacKay
Lesley Wilson
Brett Gilmore
Hugh Ritchie

Aki Paipper
Jason Strong
Mark Clews
Morry Black
Nick Jones
Vaughan Cooper
Neil Eagles

Aki Paipper
Ivan Knauf
John Cheyne
Nathan Burkepile
Neil Eagles
Peter Kay
Steve Randall
Dave Carlton
to be confirmed]
Bruce MacKay
Ivan Knauf
Jerf van Beek
Lesley Wilson
Mark Clews
Morry Black
Nick Jones
Mike Glazebrook
Xan Harding
Phil Holden
Peter Kay
Hugh Ritchie

Tom Belford
Tania Huata-Kupa

Anna Madarasz-Smith Andy Hicks
Gary Rushworth
  Tom Belford

Additional support is provided by HBRC Councillors Tom Belford, Christine Scott, HBRC staff, Tania Huata and other experts as required.

General Staff Contacts

For more information on specific aspects of this project, contact:

Policy (Project Coordination)    
Mary-Anne Baker +64 6 833 5478
Land Management    
Nathan Heath +64 6 835 9209
Stephen Swabey +64 6 833 8038

Related Documents

There are no documents related to this page.

35 page views for the last 30 days

Share with a friend  

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - / +64 6 835 9200 / Fax: +64 6 835 3601