Outstanding Water Bodies

Clause 5 of Schedule 1, Resource Management Act 1991

Proposed Plan Change 7: Hawkes Bay Regional Resource Management Plan

Change 7 proposes to introduce new provisions relating to outstanding water bodies into the Regional Resource Management Plan.

The Proposed Plan Change includes a list of the region's outstanding water bodies, together with new objectives and policies which prescribe a high level of protection for the outstanding and significant values of these bodies in future plan making.

Change 7 does not include rules. However, a number of the proposed policies will apply to certain activities that require resource consent after 31 December 2025, or once the relevant catchment based regional plan change is operative, whichever is sooner.

There are 38 outstanding water bodies proposed in Change 7. These are:

- Hautapu River
- Heretaunga Aquifer
- Karamu River
- Kaweka and Ruahine
- Ranges wetlands · Lake Rotoroa and Lake
- Rototuna (Kaweka Lakes) · Lake Poukawa and
- Pekapeka Swamp Lake Tūtira (including Aropaoanui River and Papkiri Stream)
- · Lake Waikareiti
- Lake Waikaremoana
 Whakakī Lake Te Paeroa lagoon - Wairau Lagoon and Wetlands
- Lake Whatumā
- Makirikiri Stream
- Mangahouanga Stream
- Maungawhio Lagoon
- Lower Kopuawhara River
- Pukenui Dunes Wetlands
- Mohaka River

- Ngamatea East Swamp
 - Ngaruroro River and Estuary
- Nuhaka River Opoutama Swamp
- Pōrangahau River
- and Estuary
- Putere Lakes
- · Ripia River • Ruakituri River
- · Ruataniwha Aquifer
- Tarawera Hot Springs
- Taruarau River,
- Te Hoe River
- Te Paerahi River
- Te Whanganui a Orotū
- (Ahuriri Estuary)
- Tukituki River and Estuary
- Tütaekurī River
- Waiau River
- Waihua River
- Waikaretaheke River
- Waipawa River
- Waipunga River • Wairoa River

 Morere Springs Change 7 is part of the Regional Council's broader work programme to implement the National Policy Statement

for Freshwater Management 2014. **Any person may make a submission** on Change 7 by sending a written or electronic submission to Hawke's Bay Regional Council, Private Bag 6006, Napier 4142 or email OWB@hbrc.govt.nz. The submission must be in accordance with Form 5 of the Resource Management (Forms, Fees and Procedure) Regulations 2003 and must state whether or not you wish to be heard on your submission. Copies of this form are available from the Hawkes Bay Regional Council, or

can be downloaded from www.hbrc.govt #OWB Submissions close at 5.00pm on

Friday 28 February 2020. Change 7 can be downloaded from www.hbrc.govt #OWB, or viewed at all public libraries in the region and at Hawke's Bay Regional Council, 159 Dalton Street, Napier. Printed copies are available on request. If you have any questions about Change 7, please contact Hawke's Bay Regional Council on 06 835-9200, email:

OWB@hbrc.govt.nz. The process for public participation in the consideration of Change 7 under the Resource Management Act is as follows. After the closing date for submission, the Regional Council will prepare and notify a summary of the submissions lodged. There will be an opportunity to make a further submission in support of, or in opposition to the submissions already made. If a submitter asks to be heard in support of their submission, a hearing will be held. After the hearing, the Regional Council will give its decision on Change 7 (including its reasons for accepting or rejecting submissions). Submitters have the right to

appeal these decisions to the Environment Court. James Palmer

CHIEF EXECUTIVE 31 August 2019

