Māori Committee

Terms of Reference



Adopted by resolution of Hawke's Bay Regional Council on 16 November 2022

- 1. The Hawke's Bay Regional Council Māori Committee has been in existence since the 1990s and has served as a valuable network for the Regional Council. It operates to ensure Māori input to various activities of the Council including active participation in the decision-making processes and the development of sustainable relationships with Māori.
- 2. The purpose of the Māori Committee is to:
 - 2.1. Actively participate and contribute in the decision-making processes, policy development and other activities of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council
 - 2.2. Consider ways in which to support the development of Māori capacity to contribute to the decision-making process
 - 2.3. Make recommendations to the Regional Council on matters of relevance affecting the tangata whenua of the Region, and to help fulfil the Māori consultative requirements of the Council particularly with regard to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, Local Government Act 2002 and the Resource Management Act 1991.
- 3. The expectation of the membership is that each Taiwhenua / Executive collective and the Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated (NKII) Board representative will engage with their respective constituents.
- 4. The Chair is to be elected at the first meeting of the Committee of each triennium, from amongst the members of the Māori Committee representing Taiwhenua and the NKII Board. The Chair shall be elected for that term of the Committee but is not precluded from a subsequent term as Chair if so nominated. Two key roles of the Chair will be to:
 - 4.1. preside over meetings of the Committee in accordance with the Hawke's Bay Regional Council Standing Orders
 - 4.2. manage the nominations and appointments by Taiwhenua / Executive and the NKII Board member to the Māori Committee at the end of each triennium, for re-establishment of the Committee for the next triennium.
- 5. The Deputy Chair is to be elected at the first meeting of the Committee of each triennium from among the Taiwhenua and NKII Board representative members of the Māori Committee.

Membership

- 6. The Māori Committee comprises of:
 - 6.1. Twelve representatives appointed by each of the four Ngāti Kahungunu Taiwhenua and Executive in this region
 - 6.2. One member of the Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated Board as appointed by the Board, and
 - 6.3. up to four elected members of Hawke's Bay Regional Council.

Members Thirteen representatives nominated for appointment by the Taiwhenua, Executive and the NKII Board, plus one Proxy representative nominated to attend in an appointee's absence, being:

- Katarina Kawana Wairoa Taiwhenua
- Henare Mita Wairoa Taiwhenua
- Paul Kelly Wairoa Kahungunu Executive
- Teresa Smith Proxy (Kahungunu Executive)
- Haami Hilton Heretaunga Taiwhenua
- Marei Apatu Heretaunga Taiwhenua
- Michael Paku Heretaunga Taiwhenua
- Ana Te Whiti Proxy (Heretaunga Taiwhenua)
- Dr Roger Maaka Tamatea Taiwhenua
- Dianne Smith Tamatea Taiwhenua
- Paora Sciascia Tamatea Taiwhenua
- to be confirmed Proxy (Tamatea Taiwhenua)
- Peter Eden Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)
- Api Robin Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)
- Vacant Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū (Napier)
- to be confirmed Proxy
- Bayden Barber Member of the Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated Board

Up to four elected members of the Council, being: Councillors Hinewai Ormsby, Charles Lambert, Will Foley and Sophie Siers

Quorum A majority of members including at least 1 HBRC councillor

MeetingQuarterly, with the Committee Chair, in consultation with the HBRC Chief Executive andFrequencyTe Pou Whakarae, able to arrange additional meetings should the need arise.