## **Regional Transport Committee**

## **Terms of Reference**



Adopted by Hawke's Bay Regional Council resolution 26 April 2023

The purpose of the Regional Transport Committee is to:

- 1. Prepare the Regional Land Transport Plan (RLTP) and any significant variation to the RLTP for adoption by the Regional Council, in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003.
- 2. In accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003, adopt a policy that determines significance in respect of:
  - 2.1. variations made to regional land transport plans under section 18D of the Land Transport Management Act 2003, and
  - 2.2. the activities that are included in the regional land transport plan under section 16 of the Land Transport Management Act 2003.
- 3. Prepare the Regional Public Transport Plan (RPTP) for adoption by the Regional Council, in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003.
- 4. Monitor the implementation of the Regional Land Transport Plan and the Regional Public Transport Plan.
- 5. Plan and provide for emissions reductions through multi modal activities.
- 6. Plan and provide for active transport in the region.
- 7. Advocate on strategic regional and inter-regional transport matters to Central Government and other key stakeholders as appropriate.
- 8. Make recommendations in support of land transport activities that are eligible for national funding and align with the regional land transport plan.
- 9. Approve submissions to Central Government, local authorities and other agencies on Regional Transport Committee matters.
- 10. Monitor and provide advocacy on regional road safety matters.
- 11. Monitor passenger transport objectives and make recommendations to the Regional Council on public transport policies.
- 12. Provide the Regional Council with any advice and assistance it may request in relation to its transport responsibilities.

## Members Voting Members

Two elected members of the Regional Council, being:

- Councillors Martin Williams and Jerf van Beek

One representative and one alternate, appointed by each of the following organisations, being:

- Wairoa District Council: Mayor Craig Little and Cr Chaans Tumataroa-Clarke as alternate
- Hastings District Council: Cr Tania Kerr and Mayor Sandra Hazlehurst as alternate
- Napier City Council: Cr Keith Price and Mayor Kirsten Wise alternate
- Central Hawke's Bay District Council: Cr Kate Taylor and Mayor Alex Walker as alternate
- New Zealand Transport Agency, being Linda Stewart and Sarah Downs as alternate

## **Advisory Members (non-voting)**

- New Zealand Police (representing road safety), being TBC (& alternate if appointed)
- Automobile Association (representing access and mobility, including private motorists, pedestrians, cyclists and public transport users), being David Murray (& alternate if appointed)
- Port of Napier representing the Port and coastal shipping- Nick Ganivet (& alternate if appointed)
- KiwiRail (representing rail issues) Angus Hodgson (& alternate if appointed)
- Road Transport Association NZ (representing the road transport industry) being Ian
  Emmerson (& alternate if appointed)
- HBRC Māori Committee (representing cultural and environmental interests) Api Robin
- Te Whatu Ora HB representative Dr Bridget Wilson (& alternate if appointed)
- HB Regional Active Transport Committee (name to be confirmed) representing active transport, to be confirmed (& alternate if appointed)
- Hawke's Bay Airport Rob\_Stratford (& alternate if appointed)

Chair

One Regional Council elected member, being Cr Martin Williams

Deputy Chair One Regional Council elected member, being Cr Jerf van Beek

Quorum

Majority of voting members (4)

Voting

In accordance with section 105(7) of the Land Transport Management Act, at any meeting of the RTC, the Chairperson, or any other legislated person presiding at the meeting:

- (a) has a deliberative vote and
- (b) in the case of an equality of votes, does **not** have a casting vote (and therefore the act or question is defeated and the status quo is preserved).

Regional Council, Territorial Authority and NZ Transport Agency representative members have full speaking and voting rights on all matters.

In circumstances where both the member and alternate are in attendance, only the member's vote will be counted.

Advisory Members The role of advisory members is to:

- Provide advice to the Regional Transport Committee on matters pertaining to their advisory portfolios, when requested by the Chair
- Report on relevant activities or events pertaining to their advisory portfolios.

Advisory members have full speaking rights on all matters, but no voting rights.

Meeting Frequency Quarterly, or as required

Staff Executive Group Manager Policy & Regulation and Transport Manager

Technical Advisory Group (TAG) The Transport Committee considers advice relating to strategic transport issues from a Technical Advisory Group (TAG), generally comprising roading and infrastructural planning officers from NZTA and the Territorial Authorities; and chaired by the HBRC Transport Manager. TAG members may attend RTC meetings and may provide advice at meetings when invited to do so by the Chair, but do not vote.