skip to main content skip to main menu
Scroll

Projects
~ Ngā kaupapa mahi

project arrows

Farm Plans (FEMP)

What is a Farm Environmental Management Plan (FEMP)?

A Farm Environmental Management Plan (FEMP) summarises environmental risks that have been identified on a property and explains how those risks will be managed in line with the legal requirements set out in Plan Change 6.

Do I need one?

Yes, if you own 4ha or more of productive land in the Tukituki catchment. However, if you have a low intensity farm, you only need a farm plan if your property is over 10 ha.

What is a low intensity farm?

It means a farm property or farming enterprise that contains no more than 8 stock units per hectare (this is defined on our Stock Exclusion page), and includes permanent horticultural and viticultural crops (such as orchards, vineyards) and lifestyle properties; but does not include:

a) Properties used for the production of rotational vegetable crops;
b) Dairy farms;
c) Grazed forage crops.

When do I need to do a farm plan by?

31 May 2018

Who can do one for me?

FEMP APPCMYK300ppi2A FEMP must be completed and signed off by a suitably qualified rural professional. This is to ensure that the FEMP submitted is both compliant and that the right advice has been given to ensure water quality aims are met. It is up to each landowner who they get to assist them with their FEMP, but to make sure affected landowners are getting the service that they deserve, HBRC has developed an initial approval process for FEMP providers. This  involves HBRC staff and external expertise reviewing FEMPs and liaising with FEMP providers on the quality of their product. The following providers have so far met the standards and procedures required and are Approved FEMP Providers.

Approved FEMP Providers:
 Company Contact                  
Contact Details
Website
Opus Colin Stace colin.stace@opus.co.nz
021 526 030
www.opus.co.nz
The Catalyst Group Peter Taylor peter@thecatalystgroup.co.nz
022 152 9434
www.thecatalystgroup.co.nz
Soter Rural Compliance Emma Buchanan info@soter.co.nz
027 438 7055

www.soter.co.nz

Ballance Farm Sustainability Services Christina Finlayson farm.sustainability@ballance.co.nz
0800 222 090

www.ballance.co.nz

Irricon Lilian Sherman lilian@irricon.co.nz
021 378 308

www.irricon.co.nz

Ravensdown Chris Tidey chris.tidey@ravensdown.co.nz
021 874 236

www.ravensdown.co.nz

 

Other suitably qualified providers are also working towards being Approved, but can still complete FEMPs under HBRC supervision:

   

 

Company

 

Contact

 

Contact Details

 

Website

Ravensdown Colin Tyler

Colin.Tyler@ravensdown.co.nz
021 529 146

www.ravensdown.co.nz
Ravensdown Sarah Sexton

sarah.sexton@ravensdown.co.nz
021796881

www.ravensdown.co.nz
Ravensdown Nouman Kyamanywa Nouman.Kyamanywa@ravensdown.co.nz
+6421831505 
www.ravensdown.co.nz
Groundstock Ltd Daniel Elms dan@groundstock.co.nz
027 427 9845
www.groundstock.co.nz
Goodman Rural Steve Goodman steve@goodmanrural.co.nz
027 512 1066
www.goodmanrural.co.nz
LandVision Ltd Lachie Grant lachie.grant@gmail.com
06 348 8199
www.landvision.co.nz
LandVision Ltd Doug Benn lachie.grant@gmail.com www.landvision.co.nz
LandVision Ltd Suzie Le Cren lachie.grant@gmail.com
06 348 8199
www.landvision.co.nz
Abron Paul Smith paul.smith@abron.co.nz
027 442 1333
www.abron.co.nz
Abron Briar Kay briar.kay@abron.co.nz
021 734 216
www.abron.co.nz
Lorentz Agrology Peter Lorentz ppl@ravensdown.co.nz
021 900 354
 
Landpro Kathryn Hooper kathryn@landpro.co.nz
027 759 2044
www.landpro.co.nz
LoganStone Jay Sorensen jay.sorensen@loganstone.co.nz
027 498 9932
www.loganstone.co.nz
LoganStone Hayley Mortleman hayley.mortleman@loganstone.co.nz
0273159156
www.loganstone.co.nz
Opus  Anne-Maree Jolly anne-maree.jolly@opus.co.nz
027 562 9942
www.opus.co.nz
AgFirst Erica van Reenen erica.vanreenen@agfirst.co.nz
06 929 4557
www.agfirst.co.nz
AgFirst Jessica Hughes

jess.hughes@agfirst.co.nz
027 533 2939   

www.agfirst.co.nz
AgFirst Lochie MacGillivray

lochie.macgillivray@agfirst.co.nz
027 448 6501

www.agfirst.co.nz
AgFirst Alesha Cooper

alesha.cooper@agfirst.co.nz
0275587437

www.agfirst.co.nz
Rural Directions Advisory Services             Ian Millner Ian@ruraldirections.co.nz
027 496 6380
www.ruraldirections.co.nz
Rural Directions Advisory Services                   Grant Bickley Grant@ruraldirections.co.nz
027 200 1601
www.ruraldirections.co.nz
Crowe Horwath Sean Bennett

sean.bennett@crowehorwath.co.nz
06 858 5565

www.crowehorwath.net
Crowe Horwath  Shelley Nairn

shelley.nairn@crowehorwath.co.nz
06 858 5545

www.crowehorwath.net

 

 

Industry Groups are also playing an important part in assisting their levy payers in meeting their requirements, so please contact one of the representatives below if you would like to learn more about what they are doing to help you. All have FEMP templates approved by HBRC and experience around the country in the delivery of similar programmes.

Beef and Lamb Mark Harris mark.harris@beeflambnz.com
027 577 9991
www.beeflambnz.com
Dairy NZ Adam Duker adam.duker@dairynz.co.nz
027 226 5334
www.dairynz.co.nz
FAR Diana Mathers diana.mathers@far.org.nz
027 544 2236
www.far.org.nz

You need a nutrient budget as part of your farm plan. The same person might be able to do both for you. If not, have a look at our Nutrient Budgeting page.

Related Documents

146 page views for the last 30 days

Share with a friend  

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hawke's Bay Regional Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hawke's Bay Regional Council - www.hbrc.govt.nz / +64 6 835 9200 / Fax: +64 6 835 3601